Workshop Agenda

2018 PPPL Workshop: Theory and Simulation of Disruptions
Room B318, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
Princeton University
July 16-18, 2018

8:00-8:50 Registration
8:50-9:00 Welcome and Logistics: S. Cowley and A. Bhattacharjee

Session I: ITER and Other Experiments
Chair: A. Bhattacharjee
09:00-09:40 R&D strategy for reliable disruption mitigation in ITER: M. Lehnen
09:40-10:20 DIII-D research in support of the ITER Disruption Mitigation System:
N. Eidietis
10:20-10:40 Coffee
10:40-11:10 Recent results of analysis of runaway electrons in ASDEX Upgrade:
G. Pautasso
11:10-11:40 Impact of initial plasma current and injected argon quantity on the
runaway electron distribution: A. Lvovskiy
11:40-12:10 Discussion on Session I

12:10-01:20 Lunch

Session II: Overview of Simulation and Modeling Capabilities
Chair: M. Lehnen
01:20-02:00 Overview of runaway electron physics presented at the Runaway Electron
Meeting 2018 and studies at the COMPASS tokamak: E. Mancusova
02:00-02:40 Recent progress and future directions in global runaway electron
modeling: D. Brennan
02:40-03:10 Overview of theory and simulation of disruption mitigation research at
General Atomics: B. Lyons
03:10-03:30 Coffee
03:30-04:10 Study of radiation and MHD instability as a result of full impurity
shattered pellet injection by nonlinear 3D JOREK simulation: D. Hu
04:10-04:50 Validation of runaway electron models using synchrotron radiation
measurements and full orbit simulations: D. del-Castillo-Negrete
04:50-05:20 Progress on disruption event characterization and forecasting in tokamaks:
S. Sabbagh
05:20-05:50 Discussion on Session II
07:00-09:00 Group Dinner

Session III: Runaway Electron Control and Radiation
Chair: N. Eidietis
08:30-09:10 Runaway electron beam control: D. Carnevale
09:10-09:40 Spatial transport of runaway electrons in axisymmetric tokamak plasmas:
C. McDevitt
09:40-10:10 Magnetic surface loss and electron runaway: A. Boozer
10:10-10:30 Coffee
10:30-11:00 Modeling the anisotropic radiation of runaway electrons: M. Hoppe
11:00-11:40 Radiation of runaway electrons in tokamaks with fan instability: C. Liu
11:40-12:10 Discussion on Session III

12:10-01:20 Lunch

Session IV: Disruption Prediction and Mitigation
Chair: C. Sovinec
01:20-01:50 Shattered Pellet Injection Developments and Implementation in
Tokamaks: L. Baylor
01:50-02:20 Electromagnetic Particle Injector (EPI) as a Fast Time Response
Disruption Mitigation Concept: R. Raman
02:20-02:50 Requirements, data base analysis and simulation of disruption loading for
NSTX-U recovery: D. Boyer
02:50-04:20 Coffee and Poster Session
04:20-04:50 Cross-validation and interpretation of a machine-learning-based disruption
predictor on DIII-D: K. Montes
04:50-05:20 Modeling and simulation of ablation of single pellets and SPI: R.
05:20-05:50 Discussion on Session IV

Session V: Disruption Physics
Chair: N. Ferraro
08:30-09:00 Nonlinear neoclassical two-fluid theory of the response of a tokamak
plasma to a resonant error-field: R. Fitzpatrick
09:00-09:30 Thermal quench, current quench, and wall forces in 3D VDE
computations with NIMROD: C. Sovinec
09:30-10:10 Progress on benchmarking and validation of M3DC1 simulations of
vertical displacement events: I. Krebs
10:10-10:30 Coffee
10:30-11:00 Suppression of tearing modes by RF current condensation: A. Reiman
11:00-11:30 Disruptivity and density limits in MAST and other tokamaks: J. Berkery
11:30-12:00 Asymmetric wall force reduction in ITER and JET disruptions including
runaway electrons: H. Strauss

12:00-1:15 Lunch

01:15-01:45 Decomposing magnetic field measurements into internally and externally
sourced components: R. Sweeney
01:45-02:15 Rotating MHD analysis for disruption event characterization and
forecasting: J. Riquezes
02:15-03:00 Summary and Future Strategy Discussion: A. Bhattacharjee (Moderator)

Poster Session
1)Interpretive and predictive transport analyses of high performance KSTAR plasmas
supporting disruption event characterization and forecasting: J.-H. Ahn

2) Magnetic pre-sheath boundary conditions for NIMROD VDE computations: K. Bunkers

3) Toroidal effects on the runaway electron vortex: Z. Guo

4) Kinetic equilibrium reconstruction and stability analysis of KSTAR plasmas supporting
disruption event characterization and forecasting: Y. Jiang